Image

— so I have been invited to meet with the great and the good! There’s an international conference entitled “Preventing Overdiagnosis” in September. It was held in the States last year, and I was well aware of it, but not in a position to go for multiple reasons. This year it’s in Oxford – a bit easier to get to. After the conference, there’s a day and half of research planning meetings, and I have been asked to contribute to the one on “communicating about overdiagnosis”.

I am very pleased. I presume this has come about because of my correspondence with three or four of the key players, and my submission to the Select Committee. The invitation was addressed to “Dear Doctor Dawson” (I quickly disillusioned the writer), but it appears that they actually do want my lay/patient/survivor perspective.

Don’t know what will emerge – if anything. Strange how my work and learning for my MA – in a different field – now may inform and support this venture. At least I have a bit of an idea of what research might look like. And certainly my personal experiences are informing my MA project. Issues such as ethics, informed consent, power relationships – they are what really float my boat.

And the pictorial reference? I thought it was obvious, but when I showed it to B, I realised there were multiple interpretations. Choose your favourite.

a) Up sh** creek
b) Putting your oar in
c) Paddling your own canoe

and yes I know the picture is hopelessly optimistic on several counts —

8 comments

  1. Hey! Well done you! Great that you’ve been invited, Doctor Dawson!

    V. Nice to see you at the weekend. Hope I didn’t “go on with myself” too much in the car, but we were a captive audience to each other.

    Got over the bridge fine on way home, & had good swim with girls before supper at Rosie’s. Nice. Leah beat me at Monopoly, but I beat her at Scrabble. Jess delighted at beating me at Frustration (twice) tonight, so has gone (late) to bed happy.

    We look forward to seeing some of you & Lauren late July/ early Aug. We’ve just booked 2 weeks in Majorca in 9-23 Aug ( same place as last year). Yippee.!

    Love, Andrew Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Well done! Your dedication, passion and persistence has given you a voice where it really will be listened to. I’m sure you’ll do brilliantly and hope you find it a valuable experience

  3. Well done Elizabeth for putting together such well-researched and heartfelt pieces of writing – clearly they’ve been read in high places and I’m sure you’ll put over your point of view brilliantly.


Leave a Reply

