Image

Mandela

Mandela

I am not qualified to blog about Mandela, but nor can I ignore his passing. A very late developer politically, the film “Cry Freedom” woke me up in the mid-1980s, and I did my tiny bit by joining the Anti-Apartheid Movement, by picketing a few Shell garages, and marching for Mandela’s 70th birthday. Then I married a South African in the interval between Mandela’s release from prison and his election as president. I cannot do better than put up a link to a blog post written by one of my husband’s lifetime friends – a brilliant, perceptive and articulate man who has worked tirelessly in the cause of famine relief. Here’s what he wrote last night.
http://vulnerabilityandpoverty.blogspot.co.uk/2013/12/can-any-human-being-fail-to-be-moved-by.html

2 comments

  1. Thank you Elizabeth. My 95 year old mum died just before Mandela – and although her last years, like his, were plagued by ill health and frailty, they both (in different ways) lived good lives and I shall mourn for both of them. Will we ever see their like again? X

    • I feel for you. However ill or old, the loss of a parent is hard and a major landmark, too. RIP to both your mother and to Nelson. Both irreplaceable.


Leave a Reply

