The Friends That Stay Away

This post (from someone I don’t know who has a more aggressive form of bc than me) is so good that I am reblogging it here. I hope I am this generous and sane.

Positive3negative

I love Stephanie Dowrick’s work. So many of her ideas have become a part of my thinking that it can surprise me when I re-read one of her books. “So THAT’s where I got it from!”

In ‘Universal Love’ she taught me a life changing lesson; No single human being can meet anyone’s every emotional need. Obvious really. It’s ridiculous to expect anyone to do so. Yet romantic love songs would have us believe that our ‘soulmate’ can somehow be everything we ever needed. Stephanie’s opinion was eloquently reinforced when I complained to a girlfriend one day about my husband’s desire to fix my problems rather than just listen and empathise. “Well you don’t have a husband for that. That’s what you have girlfriends for!”

Since that time, along with taking responsibility for my own happiness, I’ve recognised that a rich, healthy emotional life is populated by all sorts of…

View original post 1,592 more words

One comment

  1. Pingback: Gina Lazenby interviews Stephanie Dowrick | Stephanie Dowrick « How my heart speaks


Leave a Reply

